About Us

Appleby Emergency Response Group was formed in the aftermath of the flooding events of 2015 and 2016.  The Group was first constituted in February 2017 and is now a registered charity.  Constitution November 2019. Charity Registration number 1186650.  To view the Groups details on the Charity Commissions website please us the following link: Charity Commission.  The Charity’s Trustees are: John Ashman, Jim Chalmers, Tim Parkin, Freddie Potts and Amanda Wallbank.  

Management Committee

The Group is governed by a Management Committee who are elected annually at the Group’s Annual General Meeting (AGM).  The Groups Officer’s are also elected at this meeting.  The members of the Management Committee and Elected Officers following the AGM held on Thursday 2nd February 2023 are:  Jim Chalmers (Chairman), Mary Mackenzie (Secretary), Tim Parkin (Treasurer), Colin Smith, Amanda Wallbank, Gareth Hayes, John Ashman, Carol Barker and Laura Allan

Group Co-ordinator

The Group employees a part time Co-ordinator to manage the Group’s administration.


The Group holds an Annual General Meeting every year and at least four Management Committee meetings.  For the dates of forth coming meetings please go to our Events page.


As a Group we are registered with Neighbourhood Watch and both the Group and our volunteers are covered by their insurance when volunteering for us.

Public Liability Insurance 2021 – 2022

Employers Liability Insurance 2021 -2022